favorite #515

Playgrounds. Specifically, Communist-era ones, where the swings and slides I loved growing up in New Jersey are non-existent. My apartment building in Prague was located on a lovely street sandwiched between two even lovelier parks. When I first passed the aging playgrounds I was shocked to see such bizarre sculptures form playthings for the wee-ones; but I soon fell in love with the oddities and now I see that my Jersey park’s wooden swing set just doesn’t invoke the imagination the way these gems do. Who needs tic-tac-toe boards or even cardboard boxes when you have colorful concrete tubes and heaps of steel bars and spiderweb ropes? See for yourself:

Leave a Reply

