the big top

As a novice to the world of ceramic arts, there are many discussion topics that sail way above my head via Ceramics Daily’s e-newsletter. However, their most recent mail blast about a young, talented artist and his unusual technique, has me thinking that taking a stab at this glazing process is doable (although the results I am expecting fall short of the exquisite collection above. Aren’t those just the happiest bits of circus nostalgia ever!?)!

Jason Bige Burnett may be the first person to marry two of my favorite pastimes to date: screenprinting and ceramics. Although his foray into the marriage stems from Saturday morning comic strips and silly putty, our destinations seem much the same.

This Fall’s class at Clayworks Cooperative will be filled with my attempts to replicate this techinque and effect!

Wish me luck!

Leave a comment