early and often

I’m ashamed to realize that it’s been nearly a month since I last entertained the masses via a post. As the Halloween costume making ramped up (twitter account), weekly craft night commenced, my architecture firm’s video installation opened and the days in general grew shorter and more crammed with autumn-centric activities, my trolling of the internet for markets of inspiration floundered (to this end, I signed up for pinterest and constantly receive emails alerting me to new followers, but I’ve never even once signed in. And my NANOWRIMO novel? HA! Time, time, time, what has become of thee?).

Ladies and lads, I’m back with a bought of inspiration that’s so of the moment:

Yesterday, across America hoards of voters (or what I hope were hoards, because, dear people, it’s a basic right in our country, take advantage!) took to the polls to make a difference (we hope) in the wild ways of politics. Arriving just past 7pm to my polling location, the sea of signs was as impressive as it was useful; having never been to this particular church before, the littering of names was a sure sign (hehe) that I was in the correct location.

Driving by this morning, a mere 12 hours after the results were posted, I noted not a single sign had changed position. Now, there is a time stamp on how long these signs may stand after an election and if my memory serves me correctly from my stint as an elected township zoning board member, that window is a teeny one. Of course, the enforcement (or lack thereof) of this rule is what allows these signs to linger half buried in snow come December.

This year, the lowly members of campaigners’ staff tasked to collect signs needn’t fret if the reuse, reduce, recycle post-election movement up in Canada is any signifier (I punned again, hehe).

Posted on Apartment Therapy and messaged to me through ECOBAGS, this article about re-purposing campaign signs is of triple importance: it gets the litter off the streets, if gives non-migrating birds a place to call home and it gives communities a fun, easy art project. The people behind it are Les Fourmis, self-described as a group of “citizens who get together to express themselves, share and shake things up a bit. They do it for their city, in their city and in life in general.”

(It’s times like these I wish I was an elementary school teacher so I could replicate such an amazing idea 24 times over, truly shaping impressionable minds. But then I remember that this thought only occurs to me when I unearth a simple, fantastic art and crafts project and that art now occupies only the smallest sliver of public education. Okay, back to being an architect I go.)

Check out the article and more photographs from the creatives up north.

And maybe I’ll have a few bird homes of my own to share sometime soon 🙂

2 thoughts on “early and often

  1. Hurray! There’s a politician named “pinky” with a grand pink and blue sign that we need to snatch. Too bad for him I only saw his campaign today, his colorful sign may have swayed my vote 😉

Leave a Reply

