regrets

“Never regret anything that has happened in your life, it cannot be changed, undone or forgotten so take it as a lesson learned and move on.
-Unknown

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

I try to live my life to the fullest as often as possible, soaking in every opportunity and often placing myself well out of my comfort zone. Pushing myself to the point where a little bit of my gut says “turn around, you’re not brave enough” and reaching out and moving forward despite my fear makes my world spin round.

In accordance with this self-inflicted mantra, I also disregard the notion of regret.

With one exception: after spending six months in Prague in spring of 2008, I knew, with complete certainty that a week after I arrived back in the States that the coolest shop, bunker turned nightclub, or restaurant would suddenly appear on my radar. One week too late.

Well I arrived in New Jersey, was whisked away to Disney World with my family and then instantaneously found myself back at Carnegie Mellon for my last year of architecture school and in that three week blur, I didn’t even have time to upload photos to Facebook, let alone scour the Prague Post for all the things I was missing.

Even whilst preparing my Thesis, about Letna Park and the bunker beneath it, I never found a new place to lust after. And while I often ached to return (and still do), it was for all the places I had seen and loved and wish I could revisit.

Until now. Today. February 13th, 2012, four years to the month I first landed in the land that I love.

Whilst harmlessly scanning my Facebook newsfeed this morning and clicking on a link relating unrelated artists to each other for Valentine’s Day, I stumbled across a rather provocative interactive media sculpture by famed Czech artist David Cerny (video here) and gasped to discover that it’s home is in a gallery called FUTRA in Prague 5. Oh, dear. I visited their website and shed a little tear, for I never ever walked the four blocks behind Andel Mall to this cutting edge, tongue-in-cheek gallery. And it’s killing me.

Deep breath. Add it to the do-list. Deep breath. Next time.

One thought on “regrets

Leave a Reply

