Every rose was a thorn

3796332748_c77bf5bf6c_z One of the fantastic things about the internet is how it leads me to articles, photographs and tidbits of information that I never would have thought to search on my own. It makes me wonder what my IQ or trivial pursuit-type knowledge would be if I clicked on every link under the “you might also enjoy this tab”. For every article, on every page, ever.

I’d be a genius, no doubt. 

fm_yugoslavia_pol96 Today, on the Atlantic’s (also my) homepage, there was an article about the 15th anniversary of the concert U2 played in Bosnia just two years after the 44 month long war ended in 1995. I’m not the biggest fan of U2 or Bono’s belief that he is the key to solving all the world’s issues (so why haven’t you solved poverty and AIDs yet, almighty?), but I am deeply into the history of the lands east of Western Europe, most especially the events that took place in my lifetime. (My obsession with the Czech Republic, Poland and Budapest make sense now, right?)

After reading about halfway down the first page (which I suppose is as far as most articles get read these days with our micro-attention spans), I saw the phrase “Sarajevo Roses” and clicked on the link. (Another favorite internet feature, is the ability to quickly link or search terms that I am unfamiliar with – decidedly easier than pulling out the encyclopedia like I would do in grade school. )

3417837841_56fe5890c3It turns out the Sarajevo Rose is a stunning reminder of the physical damage, human loss and overall devastation caused by the war . Almost like blood spatter, the Rose’s form takes the shape of a concrete scar left from a mortar shell explosion, filled with red resin. The fragmentation pattern, akin to petals falling from a flower, results upon impact. What strikes me as particularly moving, is that instead of the government paving over the broken ground, they’ve allowed the Roses, developed my guerilla artists shortly after peace was regained, to remain.

After the article, I am no bigger a fan of U2 but I am so thrilled to have stumbled upon this piece of art and history. What have you found online today!? 🙂

Leave a Reply

